Two TED talks to watch

As a PhD student, I was very fortunate to have had an advisor who was not just very good at guiding me through the scientific work but also very good at helping me cope with the process itself – drawing on a lifetime’s experience to provide insightful advice on how science is done and why one might wish to venture along such arduous paths. I found this incredibly useful and I sometimes wonder whether my own students wouldn’t be shortchanged on this front while waiting for me to “grow up” and have wisdom to impart.

In the meantime, I can point them to excellent resources such as these TED talks that convey some of the essential messages:

(1) Alain de Botton: A kinder, gentler philosophy of success *

(2) Elizabeth Gilbert on nurturing creativity

* Thanks to Information Economy for pointing me to the first talk.

Leave a Reply

