The art of choice

I found this TED talk, by Prof. Sheena Iyengar, very interesting:

From personal experience of having lived in three different countries/continents, and having made a few difficult and life-altering choices myself, I must say that I agree with much of what she says although  I had not consciously thought about it quite so carefully.

With my professional hat on, I wonder how we’ll eventually embody these more complex aspects of preferences into our computational models of choice and decision making. Clearly, if we want robots and software agents to make sense of the people they must interact with, it would be helpful to tell them about such subtleties – how does one go about doing that?

PS: I still think the Japanese waiter should have allowed her to have her sugar 🙂

Leave a Reply

