Learning to be thick skinned!

The following anecdote came in a posting to one of the mailing lists I subscribe to, on decision theory. The message of course is quite domain independent, and in many ways transcends time too!

On Christmas Eve 1874, Tchaikovsky brought the score of his Piano Concerto no. 1 to the renowned pianist and conductor and the founder of the Moscow Conservatory, Nikolai Rubinstein, for advice on how to make the solo part more effective. This is how Tchaikovsky remembers it.

“I played the first movement. Not a single word, not a single comment! … I summoned all my patience and played through the end. Still silence. I stood up and asked, ‘well?’’’

“Then a torrent poured forth from Nikolai Gregorievich’s mouth… My concerto, it turned out, was worthless and unplayable – passages so fragmented, so clumsy, so badly written as to be beyond rescue – the music itself was bad, vulgar – here and there I had stolen from other composers – only two or three pages were worth preserving – the rest must be thrown out or completely rewritten…”

‘I shall not alter a single note’ I replied, I shall publish the work exactly as it stands!’ And this I did.”

The moral of the story: If you believe in the merits your work, don’t let a bad referee report get you down. Listen to Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto no. 1 to lift your spirit and move on.

Leave a Reply

